When Google created G Suite (or Google Apps as it was originally known), making collaboration on document-editing effortless for teams was central to its design. Allowing multiple people to edit a document at the same time was an enormous breakthrough that others have since tried to emulate. However, in certain circumstances businesses were looking to balance the exciting possibilities of sharing with the need to control access to folders and files. It’s from this desire to create a highly managed shared working space that Team Drives were added to Google Drive.
Team Drives are a shared space where teams can easily store, search and access their files from anywhere, on any device. They allow for better control of enterprise data and folder structures with tailored permissions so that the right users and groups can be granted access with ease.
Team Drives offer a wealth of benefits to organisations, on top of all the usual gains that cloud storage solutions bring, including;
- Bespoke security & sharing settings
- Powerful search functionality
- Files belong to the team – only specified users can delete
- Easy access from anywhere
- Secure, shared space for teams
- Easily allocate & revoke access to files
Team Drives vs My Drive
One question we hear a lot when moving organisations to the cloud with G Suite is what’s the difference between Team Drives and My Drive? The simplest analogy would be to consider My Drive like your own personal hard drive and Team Drives as a shared server. Files created in My Drive belong to the individual; so if they’re deleted, everyone loses access. Whereas Team Drive files are owned by the team and can only be deleted by users with the highest permission levels – Managers.
Another key point is that Team Drives are only available in G Suite Business or G Suite Enterprise. The only other way that you would see a team drive is if someone shared one with you. It would then appear below ‘My Drive’ on the left-hand panel of Google Drive.
Trash is also different within Team Drives. Within My Drive, when you delete something it will stay there indefinitely until you choose to empty it. That is not the case in Team Drives. In Team Drives when you delete something, the item will reside within the Team Drive’s own trash and it will only stay there for only 30 days before being deleted permanently.
Administering Team Drives
G Suite Admins can access and amend the permissions of all the Team Drives within an organisation directly from the Admin Console, making it very straightforward to look after large quantities of enterprise data. You can also use Google Groups to manage these Permissions, which allows you to group relevant users together from throughout the organisation for easier management – this follows the same principle as creating mailing groups.
Onboarding & Offboarding.
Team Drives can really simplify the process when dealing with new-starts and leavers. You can quickly grant access to specific department’s Team Drives, then revoke that access if they leave. This means there’s no more worrying about whether ex-employees still have access to important company data.
Settings & Permissions
Team Drives are incredibly customisable and can be configured to suit the data handling needs of any organisation while remaining GDPR compliant. Admins have a whole host of settings to pick from to ensure that important company data is securely locked down and never wrongly shared with anyone.
There are 5 different access levels within Team Drives, consisting of;
- Content Manager
These different levels can be allocated to users to control what actions they are able to take, such as;
- View Only
- Create New
- Move Items
- Delete Items
- Download Items
- Print Items
This range of control makes managing data much simpler for large organisations as they can ensure that files are never wrongly shared or moved out of their pre-existing folder structure by accident.
When a Team Drive is shared with you from an external organisation, a small key is displayed over the icon as an indicator. This serves as an important reminder that any data stored here is accessible to all members, both internal and external.
This is important to note because any file placed into a Team Drive will automatically transfer ownership to the Team Drive – hence why admins have so much control over files and folders. While really useful in many situations it’s good to be aware of this.
If you would like to find out more about Team Drives and some best practices for using them, or you would just like to learn more about G Suite and what it can offer your organisation, please don’t hesitate to get in touch via email@example.com. We would be delighted to have a chat about how we could help.
Stay up to date
Sign up for our monthly newsletter to stay up to date on all things G Suite, including; new features, security updates, tips, tricks and all the latest news from Google and Cobry.